Community Partners

Douglas County Emergency Management
The University of Kansas is fortunate to have a capable and robust emergency management agency in Douglas County. They provide emergency management services for the area that surrounds the campus, throughout Lawrence and the rest of the County.

The mission of Douglas County Emergency Management is to provide a comprehensive emergency management program to effectively mitigate against, prepare for, respond to, and recover from all types of major emergencies or disasters; and to educate and train Douglas County citizens, responders, and governing officials so that a disaster’s impact on people, property, and communities is minimized.

Douglas County Emergency Management operates the outdoor warning sirens for KU and the surrounding area. They also oversee the local Community Emergency Response Team (CERT), Skywarn Storm Spotters, and Auxiliary Communications Team (ACT) volunteer groups.

Visit the Douglas County Emergency Management website.

KU Medical Center Emergency Management Office
The University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, KS, has its own Office of Emergency Management that oversees emergency management and preparedness programs for the campus. Visit the KU Medical Center’s Emergency Management office website.
Kansas Division of Emergency Management
The Kansas Division of Emergency Management is the arm of the Adjutant General's Department that provides mitigation advocacy, planning requirements and guidance, response coordination, and administration of recovery programs for the civil sector of the state. KDEM operates the State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate response efforts throughout the state and provides training to emergency responders and community leaders. Visit the KDEM website.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
The Federal Emergency Management Agency, part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, is responsible for federal policies, programs, and actions to mitigate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from all hazards. FEMA is responsible for coordinating government-wide relief efforts, especially pertaining to federal agencies. The National Preparedness System and the five National Planning Frameworks describe the national, unified doctrines which guide mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery efforts across the nation, at all levels of government, and across all community partners. Visit FEMA's website.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security is the federal, cabinet-level agency created in the wake of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. Their mission includes counter terrorism, securing the nation’s borders, cyberspace and infrastructure protection, and strengthening the nation’s preparedness and resilience toward attacks and disasters. Visit the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s website.
Lawrence-Douglas County Fire and Medical

(Image courtesy of LDCFM Station 5 Facebook page)

Lawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical (LDCFM) provides fire suppression services to the City of Lawrence and emergency medical services to all of Douglas County, Kansas, which includes the University of Kansas. LDCFM personnel are on site at all KU home football and basketball games. To learn more about LDCFM and Lawrence fire ordinances, visit their website.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today